Louisiana Health Care Commission Meeting Minutes Poydras Building Hearing Room Baton Rouge, Louisiana August 21, 2009

- Members present: Coletta Barrett, Leah Barron, Dr. Robert Barsley, Doreen Brasseaux, Dr. L. Philip Caillouet, Dawn Cantrell, Dr. J. Steven Caraway, Julie Cherry, Kelly Cox, Diane Davidson, Dr. Karen DeSalvo, Berkley Durbin, Kerry Everitt, Dr. Thomas Fairley, Scott Flowers, Donna Fraiche, Dr. Holley Galland, Randal Johnson, Rep. Chuck Kleckley, Dr. Anil Kukreja, Bert Melancon, John D. Monlezun, Sr., Senator Jean-Paul Morrell, Benjamin P. Mouton, Myra Myers, William R. Naquin, Christine Arbo Peck, Bridgette Richard, Bobby Savoie, Donna Swanson, Tommy Teague, Cheryl Tolbert, Dr. Laura Trunk and Karen Reiners Winfrey.
- Members absent: Scott Broussard, Charles Lea, Dr. Warren C. Lowe, Donna Mayeux, Gordon Natal, Jr. and Phyllis Perron.
- Staff present:Alison M. Jones, Thomas Clemons, Vanessa Vince and Karen
Krumholt.

Chairperson Donna Fraiche called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m. The roll was called and a quorum was present.

Commissioner Jim Donelon welcomed new Louisiana Health Care Commission (LHCC) members and expressed his appreciation on the great representation, valuable time and input all LHCC members provide to the commission.

Chairperson Fraiche introduced the following new LHCC members and their organizations:

- Ms. Doreen Brasseaux, Louisiana State University System
- Ms. Kerry Everitt, AARP
- Anil Kukreja, Ph.D., Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Mr. John D. Monlezun, Sr., National Federation of Independent Business
- Mr. Benjamin P. Mouton, Louisiana Association for Justice
- Mr. Bobby Savoie, AARP, volunteer representative
- Mr. Tommy Teague, Office of Group Benefits

The commission voted to approve the March 27, 2009 meeting minutes.

Ms. Christine Arbo Peck reported on the Federal Medicaid Funding Formula. She stated that the Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) are matching funds that Louisiana receives from the federal government to participate in the Medicaid program. She further stated

that historically Louisiana puts up 30 cents of every dollar and the federal government puts up 70 cents of every dollar of Medicaid spending. She explained that the FMAP is calculated based on a three-year per capita personal income calculation at the federal level in accordance with federal law. Ms. Peck advised that due to Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, Louisiana experienced a growth rate in per-capita income. She further advised that the formula does not recognize artificial inflation in per capita personal income growth as a result of increased economic activity resulting from a major natural disaster. She stated that Louisiana is facing a decrease of FMAP.

Chairperson Fraiche discussed the importance of continuing to provide health care to Louisiana's needy population through adequate funding of the Medicaid program.

Ms. Leah Barron made a motion to adopt the resolution in support of federal legislation for federal funding of the Medicaid and SCHIP programs. The commission voted unanimously to approve the resolution.

The agenda then moved to the topic of the Louisiana Primary Care Access and Stabilization Grant (PCASG). Eric Baumgartner, M.D. with the Louisiana Public Health Institute was prepared to present on the PCASG however in the interest of time and previous discussions in support of the PCASG, a motion was made by Ms. Leah Barron to adopt the resolution in support of the continued funding of the Primary Care Access and Stabilization Grant. The commission voted unanimously to approve the resolution.

Chairperson Fraiche introduced the following new LHCC members and their organizations:

- Ms. Berkley Durbin, Louisiana Coalition for Maternal and Child Health
- Senator Jean-Paul "J.P." Morrell, Senate Committee on Insurance

Chairperson Fraiche reported on the Federal Health Care Reform. After much discussion, the commission decided to schedule another meeting to focus on the topic of federal health care reform.

Ms. Leah Barron made a motion to adopt the changes in the LHCC Bylaws regarding the Executive Committee term limits. The motion was approved.

Ms. Alison Jones announced that the Department of Insurance Legislation for the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature was included in the meeting handouts for review.

The meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.